fbpx

Managing Users & Groups

You are here:
< Back

Managing Users and Groups

You can add users to Enterprise Tester through the Admin section which can be accessed via the Admin tab.

The number of users you can add to Enterprise Tester depends on your license level.

Groups allow you to create predefined security profiles for users within an organization, this is a fast and efficient way of managing users’ permissions.

By assigning a user to a group, they will then be granted the permission that the group has been assigned.

You can also make a user a member of several groups in which case they will be granted the combined permissions assigned to the groups.

You must have the “Manage User and Group Security” permission to manage users and groups.

Managing Users

Users can be easily managed from the User Management screen in the Admin section. From here you can activate or deactivate users individually or in bulk, search for a user account and manage a user’s profile, project access or permissions.

 

You must have the “Manage User and Group Security” permission to manage users.

To access the User Management screen, navigate to the Admin tab and double click on the Users folder.

 

Key features from the Manage Users screen includes:

  • Add new users
  • Enable or disable users in bulk
  • Filter by All, Enabled or Disabled users
  • Quick user search

 

Adding Users

Users can be added to Enterprise Tester through the Administration section which can be accessed from the Admin tab. The number of users that can be added to Enterprise Tester depends on the license level.

A user can be added by selecting Add on the toolbar on the User Management screen (shown in the section above). To navigate to the Manage Users screen:

 

  1. Select the Admin tab.
  2. Double click the Users folder.
  3. Click the Add button to add a user.
  4. Supply the following details:
    External User This will be checked if the user was created by an external system (e.g. Active Directory)
    Username The login name for the user
    First Name User’s first name
    Last Name User’s last name
    Email The email address for the user
    Phone An optional phone number for the user
    Password The login password (only if the user is not being authenticated by an external system)
    Confirm Repeat the login password (only if the user is not being authenticated by an external system)
  5. Click on Save to create the user.

 

If users are created through synchronization with an external system then the External option will be checked and the Password options will be hidden.

 

On the ‘Permissions’ tab you can grant the User Application wide permissions. See the help topic Permissions for more information.

On the ‘Assign Groups’ tab, you can assign the user to established groups. Note that the user will inherit the application wide permissions of the group.

On the ‘Assign Projects’ tab, you can allocate the user to existing projects.

On the ‘Assigned Permissions’ tab you can view what access the user actually has, this incorporates permissions allocated in both individual user and group permission sets.

 

Editing Users

To edit a user:

  1. Select the Admin tab.
  2. Double click the Users folder.
  3. Search for the user to edit.
  4. Click the Edit icon for the relevant user.

The Edit User screen will appear and can now be updated accordingly.

Deleting Users

Users can only be deleted in ET if there is no historical activity associated with the user account, this means that a user cannot be deleted if they are referenced in the history of any entity (requirement, script, run or incident). If a user does have associated historical activity, you can use the disable functionality described below.

To delete a user:

  1. Select the Admin tab.
  2. Double Click the Users folder.
  3. Search for the user to delete.
  4. Click the Edit icon for the relevant user.
  5. Click Delete button at the bottom of the page.
  6. Click on Yes for the prompt – the user will now be removed.

 

Enabling and Disabling User Accounts

When users no longer require access to ET, you can easily disable user accounts.

Disabling users maintains historical records, but removes access to the application. A disabled user does not count toward your license limit.

To disable users:

  1. Select the Admin tab.
  2. Double Click the Users folder.
  3. Select one or more users by ticking the check box to the left of the user record.
  4. Click the Disable button on the toolbar.

Once the user is disabled, you’ll notice that the Enabled? column on the grid displays Disabled.

Similarly, you can enable users by selecting the user or users you wish to reactivate and then Clicking the Enable button on the toolbar.

You can easily view Enabled or Disabled users by selecting the filters on the toolbar.

Managing Groups

Groups allow you to create predefined security profiles for users within an organization. This is an efficient way of managing users’ permissions. By assigning a user to a group, they will then be granted the permission that the group has been assigned.

You can make users a member of several groups, in which case they will be granted the combined permissions assigned to the groups.

 

You must have the “Manage User and Group Security” permission to manage groups.

Adding Groups

To add a group:

  1. Select the Admin tab.
  2. Double Click on the Groups folder.
  3. Click the Add button.

  4. Supply a name and description of the Group.
  5. Select the Permissions tab and select the permissions you wish to assign to the group. See the help topic Permissions for more information.
  6. Select the Assign Users tab.  Select the users you wish to add to this group
  7. Click Save.

 

Editing Groups

To edit an existing group:

  1. Select the Admin Tab.
  2. Double Click on the Groups folder.
  3. Click on the group that you wish to edit.
  4. Update details.
  5. Click on Save.

Deleting Groups

To delete a group:

  1. Select the Admin tab.
  2. Click on the Groups folder.
  3. Click on the group you wish to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click on Yes at the prompt. The group will now be removed.

Assigning Users to Groups

Assigning Group membership to a user is a more efficient way of controlling access to the application.

Assigning a user to a group can be done by the Edit Group or Edit User functions:

To add a user to a group via Edit User screen:

  1. From the Manage User view, edit the user record and select the Assign Groups tab.
  2. Add groups in the Groups field by typing in the group name, or select groups from the list after clicking the down arrow.

To add a user to a group via Edit Group screen:

  1. From the Manage Groups view, double click on the group whose membership you would like to edit.
  2. Click on the Assign Users tab.
  3. Add users in the Users field by typing in the user name, or select the users from the list after clicking the down arrow.

 

To remove a user from a group:

  1. From the Manage Groups view, click on the group whose membership you would like to edit.
  2. Click on the Assign Users tab.
  3. Click on the x beside the user name to remove them form the list.